It’s time for a change.

I thought the chalk board was fitting for a teacher, right?

The idea crossed my mind over a coffee date with one of my best friends from home. We were talking about finances and how we go about saving our money and sharing ideas when it hit me.

Why not spend my entire teaching salary on student loans and use tip money to live on?

I can’t believe I hadn’t thought of it before. In making this switch, I would be putting at least $3,296.52 each and every month on loans. If I can make the mental switch from living on a salary to living paycheck to paycheck, I’d have the extra incentive to become more thrifty and pick up as many extra shifts at the restaurant as possible.

In all honesty, what could it hurt? My only true “necessary” expenses each month are gas, groceries, savings, CrossFit (a mental necessity) and Arbonne (I have super sensitive skin). Besides that, my budget categories are “Eating Out”, “Fun” and “Toiletries and Misc”. All things that if I am careful, can be cut.

Hmmm…. I am just now starting to hammer this out and it will take some time but I was just so excited I wanted to share it with you all now. I’ll work out all the details this weekend and will post my game plan next week.

Until then,

La Tejana

9 Comments

  1. So excited for you! That will really help them get paid off fast! Too funny you mentioned Arbonne…I used to sell it and got totally addicted. Still a couple staples I buy (like the sun tan lotion for the honeymoon—seriously the only stuff I’ve ever used that keeps me from getting burnt,) but I had to find alternatives for some of the stuff after I stopped getting the seller’s discount—that stuff can be dang expensive. (But worth it if you have things like sensitive skin!)

Leave a Reply

