New Year’s Post? Nah.

Okay dear readers, I contemplated the idea of reviewing 2013, looking forward to 2014 and yadda, yadda. But right now I’m still a little upset about how much debt I am still in and don’t want to re-hash the crazy, albeit incredible year I just had (at least financially, anyway. Remember that last post?).

No, queridos, that might be next week. I believe that reflection is a very powerful tool, something necessary to grow, but I’m not ready to write about all of that just yet.

So, lets leave it at this: I just went through my budget for this budget cycle, adding in a payment I made today, and I couldn’t believe my eyes. Since December 20th, I’ve paid $3,585 on my loans. I had to take a second because I didn’t believe it. I went back, redid all of the math and double checked each of my lenders website in the “My Payments” section. But no, I really have put that much on loans this cycle.

I still can’t quite believe it yet. I’ve still got 19 days until this budget cycle ends. So… I’ve decided to make my new goal to pay $415 more in the next three weeks, bringing my total loan payment for this budget cycle $4,000.

While paying back loans is hard- so damn hard, it’s nice to feel a little bit of progress after having a set back this past week while “looking at the forest”. For now it’s just looking at the trees, and $415 is a tree that I would imagine looks like the Charlie Brown Christmas Tree: small and sad, but representative of something much bigger.

Thank you for taking the time to read and stick with me through the ups and downs of this process. Feliz año nuevo!

charlie-brown-snoopy-christmas

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

